a funny thing happened on my way to “tipping the velvet”

i may have lost it a little bit. literary sensibilities that you wouldn’t exactly call astute, but my preferences used to always veer towards written forms. call it an overexposure to commercial retail. or an underexposure to light.

i was searching for reviews on the next book i intended to purchase, tipping the velvet by sarah waters, when my eyes strayed to an ad of all glitz, a make-up palette that promises so much for a price more exorbitant than i’m sure it’s worth. but what the heck, i have to keep my grip on reality, right? and that means sticking to the status quo.

all right, there must be nothing too wrong with being superficial. though sooner or later, material things make me very moody. looking back at some of my entries, i realized i have seemed so morose. this is a bad thing. i do not intend to come off as sad, precisely because i am not.  i am probably just locked into too many unnecessary retail products these days, and they just drag me down. is that weird?

so here: i am not sad. i promise not to heave like the past few entries. i am starting to annoy myself with the emotives, so no more sulking. well, until the next under-creative spell, at least.

eventually, i did end up purchasing tipping the velvet, as well as affinity, by the same author. i have yet to pick up either one to read.

3 Responses to “a funny thing happened on my way to “tipping the velvet””


  1. 1 shan April 27, 2009 at 3:39 am

    Nothing wrong with sulking–there is something to be learned from listening to one’s true feelings, after all. I wish I could let out more of my emotions in my blog. Even in my writing, I am repressed. And that’s not good, or so Ive been told.

  2. 2 cornerseat April 27, 2009 at 8:41 am

    hi shan, i think your entries are full of emotion by themselves. you mean, that’s still repressed? 😉

  3. 3 shan April 28, 2009 at 4:23 am

    You should read what I write when I sulk while writing! LOL


Leave a Reply

