uninspire

uninspired. that’s what i am. not bored, not demotivated, not lethargic. uninspired. i am in no condition to do anything to enrich my mind these days. i have even forgotten how to write. i have lost many of the words i used to dispatch with the pictures i used to paint in my head.

i am working regular hours, that’s what it is. and i am mostly just tired on weekends. but the strange thing is, my job is not particularly exhausting. it can drive me livid at times, yes, but it doesn’t feed on my emotions like the other ones did.

i guess i just want to grasp a few things right now.

what do you do to inspire yourself? some people say they look at their kids’ photos: their exhaustion just melt away and they can work longer, think faster, try harder. these people don’t understand what i’m asking. i said inspire, not motivate. there’s a huge difference.

with motivation, you can do things. with inspiration you can create things.

what do you do to inspire yourself?

10 Responses to “uninspire”


  1. 1 cwillz October 17, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    Great job explaining the difference between motivation and inspiration.

    Inspiration, to me, is like the wind in my sails.(yeah, corny but this is really what pops in my head) The notion that one can inspire themselves seems difficult. It would be like sitting on a sail boat and blowing at your sails, hoping that it would move you.

    To answer the question – I raise the sails and wait. For me it means that I spend time praying and trying to understand myself, my world, and the will of God.

  2. 2 fleetwindmac October 18, 2008 at 2:24 am

    Life is an undulation, right? So being ‘inspired’ is a peak and being uninspired is a trough. Or something like that. I just try to write through it, or else not write and enjoy the lack of pressure. Sometimes it’s nice to not have to write, and inspiration demands address.

  3. 3 banzai cat October 21, 2008 at 6:35 am

    live for myself. just one day or even only for the night. no ties to what am: son, boyfriend, employee. doing what I enjoy best (which is usually looking at books, reading or writing in a quiet place). it’s a little like spoiling yourself: it helps you find yourself.

  4. 4 islandmystik October 23, 2008 at 6:31 am

    Inspiration is found when my mind is at ease the help of calm found on a beach with the wind, sun and surf the laughter of friends and the one I love telling me I matter. Sometimes it comes without doing anything… Funny that, I guess when it comes the best thing is to make the most of it.

  5. 5 dodo dayao October 27, 2008 at 6:52 am

    I listen to music. Really. That’s all it takes for me, most of the time.

    Art and movies and books motivate me maybe because I draw and shoot and write.

    But I can’t sing a note to save myself so that way, music becomes less utilitarian , more transcendental. I get epiphanies from those other arts,too, but music is the only one that gets me to that place.

    Well, sometimes, running takes me there, too. And beer. 🙂

  6. 6 Jen R. November 4, 2008 at 12:45 am

    I’m having one of those days too. I woke up felt horribly unmotivated. Canceled the baby sitter and didn’t go to school! I’ll pay for it later but today I had a lazy day with the babe. I found your blog from the mom group in 20sb. It is so cute! I can’t wait to peek around.

  7. 7 ton November 24, 2008 at 11:38 am

    forget inspiration. i think i might have shaved a couple points off my IQ just being in Dubai. just the sheer lack of mental exercise can get to you. just this morning i was baffled i couldn’t remember the word “interest” – i was trying to say “in the interest of fairness” during a meeting. and now i can’t complete what would otherwise be a mildly sarcastic remark because I can’t remember another word..something to the effect of “frustrated” writer (pointing to you).. you know what i’m saying?

    egad, the feeling is horrible.

  8. 8 ton November 24, 2008 at 11:42 am

    you know what, i think “frustrated” was actually the right term.. you see what’s happening here?

  9. 9 cat with the fiddle November 25, 2008 at 9:10 am

    uh… i don’t know what you’re saying lol

    yes, i am a frustrated many things.


  1. 1 put one foot in front of the other. repeat ad nauseum « CornerSeat Trackback on March 11, 2011 at 3:14 am

Leave a Reply

